Thoughts for the Day

I hope you enjoy these quotes, as you embark on another day!

Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice   everywhere. We are caught in an inescapable network of mutuality, tied in a single garment of destiny. Whatever affects one directly, affects all indirectly- MLK

It does not require a majority to prevail. Rather, an irate, tireless, minority, keen to set bush fires in peoples mind’s- Sam Adams

Government action is not the whole answer to the present crisis, but it is an important partial answer. Morals cannot be legislated, but behavior can be regulated. The law cannot make an employer love me, but it can keep him from refusing to hire me because of the color of my skin- MLK

From each according to his abilities, to each according to his needs- Marx

The object of government is the welfare of the people. The material progress and prosperity of a nation are desirable chiefly so far as they lead to the moral and material welfare of all citizens- Teddy Roosevelt

Judicial decrees may not change the heart; but they can restrain the heartless- MLK

I am not a Labor Leader; I do not want you to follow me or anyone else; if you are looking for a Moses to lead you out of this capitalist wilderness, you will stay right where you are. I would not lead you into the promised land if I could, because if I led you in, some one else would lead you out. You must use your heads as well as your hands, and get yourself out of your present condition- Eugene Debs

The soft, the complacent, the self-satisfied societies will be swept away with the debris of history- JKF

I cannot accept that to be realistic means to tolerate misery, violence and hate. I do not believe that the hungry man should be treated as subversive for expressing his suffering. I shall never accept that the law can be used to justify tragedy, to keep things as they are, to make us abandon our ideas of a different world. Law is the path of liberty, and must as such open the way to progress for everyone- Oscar Arias Sanchez

When I give food to the poor, they call me a saint. When I ask why the poor have no food, they call me a communist- Dom Helder Camara

The 20th century has been characterized by three developments of great political importance: The growth of democracy, the growth of corporate power, and the growth of corporate propaganda as a means of protecting corporate power against democracy- Alex Carey

Capital is reckless of the health or length of life of the laborer, unless under compulsion from society- Marx

I submit that an individual who breaks a law that conscience tells him is unjust, and who willingly accepts the penalty of imprisonment in order to arouse the conscience of the community over its injustice, is in reality expressing the highest respect for law- MLK

When will our consciences grow so tender that we will act to prevent human misery rather than avenge it? – Eleanor Roosevelt

-kd-

Leave a Reply

