The Controversial Survey

Okay: I figured I’d try something new. I read this survey on another blogger’s page, and figured I would give it a go. Try it yourself if you’d like!

1. Do you have the guts to answer these questions and re-post as The Controversial Survey?.

I’m saying yes now, but who knows by the time I get to the end…

2. Would you do meth if it was legal?

Absolutely not, I’ve worked in a drug rehab and seen the terrible impact it has on individuals and families. Meth is especially physically bad for the body.

3. Abortion: for or against it?

Okay, now its getting tough. I have been conflicted about abortion for a long time, but this is were I stand now: I don’t know. Morally, I feel that abortion is wrong after a certain point in the pregnancy, but as a man incapable of being impregnated through rape or incest, I’m not sure that I have the right to impose my morals on half of the human population…I think I am not for abortion, but I am against banning it. I think in general, abortion should be allowed up until a certain point in the pregnancy, unless the life of the mother is at risk. At a certain point though, the baby is a new life & it is wrong to kill it. Deciding when that point is however, is the tricky part.

4. Do you think the United States would fail with a female president?

Depends. If it is Sarah Palin, then yes. If it is Hilary Clinton, then no. Politics trumps gender.

5. Do you believe in the death penalty?.

Another tricky one, I’ve worked against the death penalty, and am morally opposed to it, but I am not sure that I am in a position to tell the family member of a slain individual that the perpetrator could not be killed. I could theorize about this forever, but in the end, my answer is no, I do not support the death penalty.

6. Do you wish marijuana would be legalized already?

As corny, chessy, and overused as the phrase “marijuana is a gateway drug” is, the truth is that for many kids it truly is. That being said, I think that criminal penalties for possession should be dramatically lessened. My initial response is no, marijuana should not be legalized, but I am also forced to consider that gambling, alcohol, and motor vehicles kill more people and do more harm to society than marijuana does- and they are all legal. However, if we continue down the road that this particular drug “isn’t so bad”, then we open the door to legalizing all sorts of drugs that truly hurt people like cocaine, heroin, and meth. So my conditional answer is, no, except for limited medical use.

7. Are you for or against premarital sex?

This is a decision to be made by the individuals in question.

8. Do you believe in God?

I believe that humanity and life is eclipsed and enveloped by an essence that is great and beyond my comprehension. If I would call that God, I don’t think so. I don’t think a name, or a value laden word like “God” can accurately describe my spiritual beliefs.

9. Do you think same sex marriage should be legalized?

Absolutely. Read my piece on it HERE

10. Do you think it’s wrong that so many Hispanics are illegally moving to the USA?

I think it is wrong that America has made it illegal for them to be here. As one of my friends says: “a person cannot be illegal”. I think we need serious immigration reform that is just and truly reflects the contributions many newcomers make to our nation.

11. A twelve year old girl has a baby, should she keep it?

A decision for her, her family, and a doctor. I would be inclined to suggest that she does not, provided she is not late-term, but I wouldn’t venture to mandate one option over the other.

12. Should the alcohol age be lowered to eighteen?

Yes. If you can pay taxes, go to war and kill people for your government-or be killed, you should be afforded all rights and burdens of adulthood.

13. Should the war in Iraq be called off?

You can’t call a war off after 7 years. It’s not like a baseball game you can cancel due to the weather. We’ve already been there for years, and over 80,000 civilians have died. So yes, I think we need an immediate exit strategy, but it’s a little late for the calling it off bit.

14. Assisted suicide is illegal: do you agree?

Nope, it is the ultimate act of human arrogance to demand that another not kill themselves, and even more so that someone cannot assist them if they wish. Although I would not wish the situation on anyone, I think it would be interesting for someone who opposes assisted suicide to one day find themselves in the shoes of a terminally ill suffering patient who wants the dignity of presiding over their own life and making any choice that affects it- including suicide. I’m not endorsing suicide, I just don’t think I have the right to make someone live.

15. Do you believe in spanking your children?

Where do these questions come from? I believe that some amount of “spanking” is okay, and there are obviously lines that should not be crossed. This is what child protection laws are for.

16. Would you burn a flag for a million dollars?

If it was Confederate.

17. Who do you think would make a better president: McCain or Obama?.

Seriously? This shouldn’t even count as a question.

18. Are you afraid others will judge you from reading some of your answers?

Nope.

Hope you enjoyed!

-kd-

12 Responses

  1. very controversial. enough said.

  2. good for you for posting your answers to these questions. i am astounded by how some of the questions are framed…so many assumptions behind them. thanks for saying that a person cannot be illegal.

  3. you, of course are the friend i was referring to!

    thanks for the feedback!

  4. Nicely done, and thoughtful answers. And you answer to the flag burning made me chuckle 🙂

  5. I’m stealing this okay 🙂

    It’ll be on my blog in a few days!

  6. absolutely, i look forward to yours ^_^

  7. Hello Kevin!
    I have read and enjoyed your blogs, and I have a question for you concerning your answer to #11. You said:

    A decision for her, her family, and a doctor.

    I am assuming that the meaning of the survey question was abortion and not adoption.
    Would you consider it also acceptable as a decision between, her, her school, and a doctor, with the family excluded?
    In the interest of fairness, I will also complete the survey.

  8. i would say: the school has no business in the decision. they are there to provide an education to her, not become involved in a decision of this nature.

    second, i would not exclude the family. the girl is 12, and it is the right and responsibility for the parents to have some input into the situation.

    the decision to keep the baby would have a tremendous impact on the family, to abort the baby is not a decision that a 12 year old should make without parental consent, again excluding rape/incest/risk of life.

  9. I apologize for asking such a personal question and I thank you for your honest answer. Please allow me to explain why I asked it. I have spoken of “liberal” or “progressive” agenda, and this is pretty much what I am talking about. Current law in California allows for a child as young as 12 to be taken for an abortion by her school without notifying the parents. You would think she is at soccer practice, but in reality she is undergoing a major medical procedure. You will never know, as the school will have her home in time for supper. But how can a parent help their child with the mental trauma associated with an abortion if they do not know about it? How can you provide the emotional support necessary for their mental well-being under these circumstances?
    Does it matter that this is State and not Federal legislation? Not to me. Hilary Cinton and Nancy Pelosi (the most dangerous woman in America) were both key in promoting this change to the California Constitution. They are the ones in power.
    I really have a problem with this trend of removing parental authority from the actual parents and placing it with the school system. Another example would be school districts in Maine that dole out birth control pills to girls as young as 12, again, without notifying the parents.
    I do not have a problem with legislation and programs that are designed to address specific problems in our society, but with one string attached: they have to actually work!
    Removing parental rights does not meet those requirements.

  10. Hi douglaskev,
    Your blog has now got a great shape man. I enjoyed this post (and everyone will 🙂 ). Though I have a different view on few of the above questions. neva mind. Keep writing stuffs like this.

    Freddie

  11. interesting framing on many of these – the illegal immigrant question singles out hispanics…
    Thanks for sharing.

  12. Robert you are right about Hispanics being singled out- if you into the issue, I highly recommend:

    “Magical Urbanism: Latino’s Reinvent the U.S. City”

Leave a Reply

