American Prayer

So I don’t mean to get all sentimental, but tomorrows gonna be a big day. The results of the election will be one of the defining points of America that I have seen in my life so far, right up there with 9-11 & the Iraq War.

I’m not religious, but I appreciate the sentiment of a prayer for America. I pray that we will come together on November 4th as a nation & vote for a better future. I hope that we will vote no on ballot initiatives that would make gay marriage illegal, that would shut down affirmative action, that would limit ESL classes for children in our schools.

I pray that the majority of our country will stand up & demand we stop seeking out war, that we don’t suspend civil liberties, and that we become an ally to the world. I pray that this election will inspire people to action, and that it banishes apathy and desperation.

I pray we will not be silent about discrimination in all its forms, and we demand equality for all. I pray for the safety of Obama & his family from hate, and that we will hold hope above fear.

That is my American prayer.

-kd-

3 Responses

  1. im tired of dealing with the worst so maybe this “prayer” thing might work, cause im praying for the best.

  2. Hi, thanks for dropping by in my page. America has come a long way. It inspires us all the way from here in developing countries. If America has outgrew discrimination and racism to some extent manifested by this election, it inspires us that one of these days and moments, the prejudices and biases will also end here in our homeland. I come with you in your prayer.

  3. Your prayer hits the core of what religious values should stand for šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

