Veterans Day

american-troopsToday is Veterans Day, and I wish to personally extend appreciation to our troops. While I often decry the United States military for its imperialistic and clumsy foreign policy, I have to acknowledge that American’s serve our country out of a sense of duty, to obtain college degrees, and generally not because of malice in their hearts. Since the founding of our country, troops have served us, and fought to preserve our liberties & freedoms. As often as I like to talk about peace, I am reminded of a quote:

“Peaceful men can sleep in their beds at night because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf”

I by no means endorse disproportionate force, or war in general, but I have to acknowledge the debt that I, and all Americans owe to soldiers who personally sacrifice for us. Instead of superfluous ceremonies, and flag waving, the United States Government ought to invest heavily in the futures of soldiers- guaranteed higher education, health care, and retirement. To date, over 4,000 troops have died in Iraq. Let’s truly honor our troops and their families by removing them from unnecessary danger.

-kd-

5 Responses

  1. I just have a couple of comments about some assumptions you made in your post.

    “While I often decry the United States military for its imperialistic and clumsy foreign policy, I have to acknowledge that American’s serve our country out of a sense of duty, to obtain college degrees, and generally not because of malice in their hearts. ”

    The first is that the military has the ability to possess and exercise “imperialistic and clumsy foreign policy.” Administrations have foreign policy, the military follows orders organized to carry out a mission. All military personnel take and oath to the constitution of the United States first and superiors second.
    The second implied assumption is that folks join the military primarily for selfish reason sons (get college). There are some out there who still join to defend this country that has provided so much opportunity. That is the reason so many stay after our initial enlistment.

    Happy Vets day!

  2. Hello & thanks for your response.

    I would clarify that when I referred to the military’s clumsy & imperialistic policy, I by extension was referring primarily to the administration’s decisions. I recognize that many military decisions are made by the administration, not the armed services per se.

    However, in instances such as the military’s handling of abu gharib, the word “clumsy” is perhaps more generous than deserved.

    Second, I by no means implied that joining the military for the purpose of getting an education was selfish. Perhaps that is your assumption? I personally know of many students who have enrolled in the armed services solely for that reason- I do not think this diminishes their service in any way.

    In fact, when volunteering to drive folks to polls on election day, I met a young man (22) who was thinking about enrolling in the navy because it was the only way he saw getting out of the trap that cities like Philadelphia can become for low income individuals.

  3. Ashley seems to have not read your post at all, That pic is a lovely one, what a person a daddy is to one so young. 🙂

  4. My emotions are still somewhat raw and do not quite know how to “feel” about you.

    Perhaps I too am beginning to heal.

    http://mssc54.wordpress.com/2008/11/11/veterans-day-2008/

  5. That quote really says it all and made me stop and think for a moment.

    I just can’t relate to the feeling of wanting to fight and battle in a war which sometimes means defending the rights of people in my country or in others.

    But we’re lucky other people feel that need.

Leave a Reply

